Poemetry: We’re All Beautiful Liars

She says she can’t live without me

and nothing is okay.

She loves me and she needs me

and why can’t I just stay.

But every word is laced deceit

and pushes me away.

‘Cause she’s a beautiful liar

with nothing much to say.

I can’t live without her but she

doesn’t love me anyway.

I’ll wave even after I’ve gone

and by my hand betray

that I will always love her though

my lips say what they may.

‘Cause I’m a beautiful liar

with nothing much to say.

In silence, we walk past the past,

and by unspoken accord obey

that each smile is another lie,

though they our thoughts betray.

‘Cause we’re all beautiful liars

with nothing much to say.

Leave a Reply

