Poemetry: Hell’s Envy

Great rise my plumes to shame the sky,

of greater feather than those that fly,

jealous of their pinioned heights

that pilfer the sky’s painted sights.

Melpomene must resent me too

for alone I write greater sorrows

by my own pen and purview,

by harrow and hopes hollow.

But surely Hell envies me most,

and foolish perhaps is such a boast,

for hate and fury rakes my soul

with blacker blaze than of the whole

of Hell’s and Hades’ ferocity,

my mind with more monstrosity.

Leave a Reply

