Poemetry: To What Might I Compare My Love For Thee?

To what might I compare my love for thee?

A desert? No, it burns with greater heat.

Although each grain numbered be, still less than my love for thee.

And what of the storm and peal of thunder?

My love carries no cloud, nor clouds the sun.

Still, though every drop the ocean, its rains measure under.

Is my love the silver-flecked crown of earth?

Brighter shines thine alabaster simper,

And if night bid to supplant thee with stars, there be a dearth.

To what might I compare my love for thee?

No thing earthen may weigh thee, no thing seen.

No thing shall ever do, my love, countless measured for thee.

Leave a Reply

