Absurd wisdom

“For Christ didn’t send me to baptize, but to preach the Good News—and not with clever speech, for fear that the cross of Christ would lose its power.” – 1 Corinthians 1:17 (NLT)

I think I fall into this trap more than I care to admit to myself. Being prone to philosophical conversations doesn’t help. Sometimes I feel like I have to try to make this perfect little sales pitch for Christ, as though He were something to be sold.

All the more, it is in this act that I prove myself the fool. Earthly wisdom tries to take things it does not comprehend, wisdom above itself, and tether it to our existence. And that is what I have tried to do so many times. It is all the worse in its succeeding. We diminish the cross in trying to explain it with fanciful words.

Paul makes it very clear in preceding and subsequent verses that God chose for the cross to be foolishness to the philosopher. For God to take on flesh and die for the sake of sinners, it doesn’t make sense to the mind. We scorned Him, hated Him. He died for us.

We will never fully fathom the love God has for us. We simply can’t. Our minds cannot touch the heights of God’s love. And we need to accept it. That is no simple task, certainly not for one like me. Humans have this terrible drive to understand everything, refusing to admit the inability to do so.

But it is necessary here. God loves us and it doesn’t make sense to us. If we were in His shoes, we would have given up on us a long time ago. But He didn’t. He never will.

Leave a Reply

